How do you get a quick grip on anxiety or intrusive thoughts?

What is your go-to technique for interrupting intrusive thoughts or getting a hold on anxiety? 

Mine is to exhale as long and slow as I can while really concentrating on what that breath feels like. The compression of my core muscles and loosening of my diaphragm. The sensation of air passing up and out of my throat, pushing gently between my lips. The slight discomfort of expelling the very last bit of air from my lungs followed by a springing back of my diaphragm as my body automatically refills my chest with air. 

Repeating this for a couple of breaths immediately interrupts the automatic spiralling of thoughts and overwhelming anxiety or depression that grips my body and mind. 

The key is to really focus on the physical sensations and mechanics of breathing so that your neural pathways are diverted and your attention shifts away from the monologue in your head or the tension increasing in your body. 

It works not only because it mentally allows you to step away from your thoughts so you can view them more objectively, but it also increases the oxygen in your body and brain and releases physical tension. It gives you the power to take control of the reins again. 

I look forward to reading your comments on how breathing or other techniques help you when you feel yourself spiralling out of control! 

3 thoughts on “How do you get a quick grip on anxiety or intrusive thoughts?

  1. Rachael Moore says:

    Thank you so much for posting this ❤ Been having it quite badly this week w/anxiety and intrusive thoughts and it seems all the techniques I was taught just went out the window and completely forgot. Seeing this has made me feel a lot better. Thank you ❤

    • Kerrie says:

      I’m glad it’s helped Rachael and I hope today is a better day for you! ❤ Life gets overwhelming so quickly and I often need reminding of techniques too!

Leave a Reply

