Attempt at healthy oat muffins

032I decided today to make some healthy muffins to keep as treats when I want a quick snack.

I hate cooking. That’s where this healthy eating becomes a challenge for me. I love eating fresh, healthy food but I have a habit of being lazy and getting take-away or something very simple and quick to make.

I should have probably chosen a better recipe to begin with, but I tried this one anyway.

024 copy1 1/4 cups rolled oats
2 small mashed bananas
2 chopped apples
1 cooked apple, mashed (had no applesauce)
1 1/2 Tbsp cocoa
3 Tbsp chia seeds
2 Tbsp ground flaxseeds
1 1/2 Tbsp ground cinnamon

All mixed together, spooned into a muffin tray and baked at 180 C for 15 mins.

I like this recipe because it contains no eggs, flour, butter or added sugar. The flaxseeds and chia seeds provide healthy unsaturated fats including omega-3, lots of antioxidants, and fibre, and the oats of course contribute to the high-fibre in these muffins.

Unfortunately, they could have been a little more palatable. They were not exactly dry, because the apples softened it a bit, but it fell apart pretty easily and probably could have been just a little sweeter. Nevermind, I’ll tweak it a bit and try it again another day. I’m not the best cook but I haven’t given up just yet, and I want to give it another go sometime.

Using proper applesauce instead of a mashed apple probably would have made the whole thing a little more moist and sweeter, and maybe some more banana? I’m also considering making a chia gel (by soaking the chia seeds in water) before adding them to the mix to moisten it up and hold it together better?

I feel like this recipe might be better for making little bite-sized balls or squares.

This entry was posted in Clean eating and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

